Let’s be straight, I am far from been a professional “Book Reviewer” but with every book I read and have read I will post a review, simply for writing practice and also to hopefully introduce new unread books, good or bad to the readers. Comment, be critical, send me your reviews or simply enjoy the review and hopefully find a book you may never of heard of or read.

Mentioning The War
Kevin Higgins poetryTue. June 19 2012: by Kevin Higgins
Poet Kevin Higgins introduces us to his reviews and essays in a new book, Mentioning the War. Full of wit, opinions, criticism, informative and provocative, there is plenty of content here to keep you entertained.

Read More Here ..

 

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

The Iliad by Homer
The Iliad by Homer Wed. May 02 2012 Translated by Stephen Mitchell 544pp
Stephen Mitchell’s magnificent new translation of the Iliad reminds us that there is always a new and different way to read and interpret the great classics, and that they need to be reinvigorated from generation to generation, just as we need to be reminded that they are, however venerated, above all stories: exciting, full of life and great characters, in short great entertainment, not just great monuments of culture or the Western canon

Read More Here..

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Under The Avalanche

Under The Avalanche by Anne McCabe Thur. Mar 15 2012: by Anne McCabe. 258pp
A Heartfelt Story of Ireland from the 1940’s to the 1980’s, and the secret shame that has befallen so many women whose only sin was to dare to fall in love.

Read More Here….

 

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

The Sea is my Brother: The lost Novel
jack kerouacTue. Mar 6 2012: By Jack Kerouac. 432pp
“The Sea is My Brother” is Jack Kerouac’s first novel and the 158-page handwritten manuscript was not published during his lifetime. He wrote in his notes for the project that the characters were ‘the vanishing American, the big free by, the American Indian, the last of the pioneers, the last of the hoboes’.

Read More Here…

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Empire of the Summer Moon
Empire of the Summer MoonFri. Feb 2 2012: By S.C.Gwynne. 371pp
In the tradition of Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee, a stunningly vivid historical account of the forty-year battle between Comanche Indians and white settlers for control of the American West, centering on Quanah, the greatest Comanche chief of them all.

Read More Here…….
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Federico Garcia Lorca A Life
Federico Garcia Lorca A Life ian gibsonWed. Jan 25 2012 : by Ian Gibson. 576 pp
Federico Garcia Lorca was a famous Spanish poet and dramatist. This biography by Ian Gibson gives an account of his family, his private life and his mysterious death, as well as tracing his literary development.

 Read More Here…..

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
Book Reviews, 10.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating